gtguilloryonline

A topnotch WordPress.com site

My Beef With Infographics

1 Comment

My Beef With Infographics has more to do with how they appear and not the info they provide. Infographics are everywhere these days but have you considered how they are received by the majority of your audience? My Beef With Infographics is that when shared most of the info is lost on the reader.

What’s A Infographic:

My Beef with Infographics1

My Beef with Infographics1

They’re actually pretty cool, information delivered with images. Some of them have animation too! The idea was great, images married to text to get a point or process across that is more pleasing to readers than plan old text could ever be. What’s not to like in a Infographic? Well in most cases, Infographics look cool on a blog (most of the time). Getting our message out their and trying to grow an audience requires that you need share on other sites and platforms. This is when I start losing my appreciation for Infographics because when shared they’re often hard to read on those other platforms. Cool if the whole idea is to get people onto your site where they can see it better, but….(saw it coming didn’t you). Too often the great Infographic you created ends up looking like this one here on the right. The images come through in most cases but the text is lost on the other places where it might be shared. Can you imagine trying to look at this on your Cell or other device?

 

Better Alternative:

My Beef With Infographics2

My Beef With Infographics2

Of course I should offer an better alternative to the Infographic, got beef better have a solution right? My solution is in the latest push that’s actually been going on for the past two years in the Social Communities. You didn’t think that Google buying YouTube didn’t have long term impact did you? So here’s my alternative, video. What’s quicker and easier than video? Not much. The rise of the “Go-Pro” is just another signal that if you’re marketing or building a online presence and not doing video you will get left behind. Who could have thunk (hey it’s a word here), that video would keep getting easier to do? Not me for sure! Now you can shoot, upload and share directly from your phone! In HD no less! I’m not only impressed but curious even more so by the latest moves by some of the Social platforms regarding video on their respective sites.

 

How & Why Video:

My Beef With Infographics - Video Is Better On FB

My Beef With Infographics – Video Is Better On FB

It’s all a big war of content and the Social sites don’t want to be left out. Recently Facebook has made moves to give better traction to video’s directly loaded to their site over other media. Just take a look at the response of video’s there compared to text and images right in your Newsfeeds. Twitter on the other hand recently announced their own app for uploading your video’s directly to Twitter! If that’s not a signal to start adding more video’s to your marketing I don’t know what is. Recently I’ve experienced an explosion of sorts on my own FB page with video’s. Get in the video game or get left behind, you should see where PPC & video has taken my likes now.

Over all I’m not saying leave the Infographics behind but if they are not a big part of your online efforts then take a look at video. Video expands your reach better and still gets your content out there without any loss between sites or mediums. So please comment below and let me hear your opinion.

Until next time, check out what I’m sharing in other places:

Glenn’s Tips On Twitter

Learn About Leads: Glenn’s FB Fan Page

Official Site Page: GlennTGuillory.com

Marketing Blog: gtguilloryonline.com

My Beef With Infographics - Call Me

My Beef With Infographics – Call Me

 

Author: Glenn T Guillory

Marketing success, primary goal is to help new-intermediate marketers finding success. Always available to help marketers get started or increase their profits. My sites have articles always with this in mind and I hope they help you too! My specialty is helping marketers learn how to get more & better leads for their home business

One thought on “My Beef With Infographics

  1. Pingback: google

Leave a Reply

